GM Recordings logo


[New releases]
[New releases]
[Shopping cart]
[Favorite Links]
[Contact us]

GM 3028 Previous Next
Orange Then Blue:
While You Were Out...

What the critics are saying...

WHILE YOU WERE OUT... coverOrange Then Blue can swing as hard as anyone ... expanding the tradition ... ambitious nature ... the band pulls off its ideas.   Musician

  • I can think of no better example of all that contemporary jazz has to offer.  Cadence
  • ...increasingly tight, challenging music.   Five albums, many tours and kudos later, OTB has moved into pinpoint ensemble focus.  Down Beat
  • The musical maturation of Orange Then Blue continues at a startling pace ... a wonderful sense of spontaneous fun...  Boston Globe
  • ...flawless and often hilarious ... the band has grown even earthier in their world music extrapolations ... the continuing evolution of a first-rate ensemble.  Boston Phoenix

Qty: 2-CD Price: $20.00

Also available for downloads on Amazon as well as Apple Music, Spotify, Rhapsody, eMusic and other digital sites.

Also check out these other fine albums of Orange Then Blue:
Jumpin' in the Future Music for Jazz Orchestra Where Were You? Funkallero Hold the Elevator
Jumpin in the Future Music for Jazz Orch Where Were You? Funkallero Hold the Elevator
Dave Ballou, Cuong Vu, Dave Douglas, trumpetMatt Darriau, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, penny whistle, Irish flute, kaval; Chris Speed, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, clarinet Bob Bowlby, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, flute, piccolo, bass clarinetRick Stepton, trombone;  
Peter Cirelli
, bass trombone, euphoniumMark Taylor, French hornTim Ray, piano, synthesizerPaul Del Nero, bass; George Schuller, drums, percussion;  
Seido Salifoski
, dumbek (disc 1: #3)Darcy Hepner, flute (disc 2: #5)Greg Runions, percussion (disc 2: #5)Frank Lockwood, cowbell, egg shells (disc 2: #5)
Disc 1
1. Scatter (Chris Speed) 8:58
2. Kamikaze (Mark Taylor) 6:17
3. Gankino Horo
(Traditional/Bulgaria, arranged by Matt Darriau)
4. While You Were Out... (George Schuller) 9:33
5. Slow Boat to Mechanicsville (Dave Douglas) 9:31
6. La Partida (C Bonet/Venezuela, arranged by Matt Darriau) 8:17
Disc 2
1. Evanscent (for Gil Evans) (George Schuller) 15:44
2. Flypaper (Dave Clark, arranged by Tim Ray) 7:59
3. Truth Is Marchin' In (Albert Ayler, arranged by Chris Speed) 8:17
4. Three Reels and an Air (for Josie McDermott) (arr Matt Darriau) 9:14
5. Sequenz (Brian Ales) 10:03
6. While You Were Out... (encore) (George Schuller) 2:31
Recorded July 7-10, 1992 at The Banff Center for the Arts in Banff, Alberta, Canada.
Producer: George Schuller
Executive Producer: Gunther Schuller
[Top of page]