GM Recordings logo


[New releases]
[New releases]
[Shopping cart]
[Favorite Links]
[Contact us]

GM 3023 Previous Next
Orange Then Blue:
FUNKALLERO coverOrange Then Blue has long been recognized as one of the driving forces of contemporary big band music.  Since bursting out of the busy Boston jazz scene nearly a decade ago, the group has become widely known as a creative force to be reckoned with.  Appearances at the Montreal International Jazz Festival and New York City’s Knitting Factory drew large audiences eager to hear Orange Then Blue for themselves.

On Funkallero, Orange Then Blue’s fourth release on GM, the 12-piece ensemble performs nine original compositions and arrangements by drummer George Schuller, saxophonist Matt Darriau and other band members, drawing from the extended jazz forms of Charles Mingus, the provocative orchestrations of Gil Evans and the haunting folk melodies of Bulgaria and the Andes, among a plethora of other sources.  Tying it all together is the loose-limbed swing that has made Orange Then Blue a superb ensemble and an ultimate soloists’ band.

Qty: · CD Price: $12.00 ·

Also available for downloads on Amazon as well as Apple Music, Spotify, Rhapsody, eMusic and other digital sites.

Also check out these other fine albums of Orange Then Blue:
Jumpin' in the Future Music for Jazz Orchestra Where Were You? While You Were Out Hold the Elevator
Jumpin’ in the Future Music for Jazz Orch Where Were You? While You Were Out Hold the Elevator
Matt Darriau, alto saxophone, soprano saxophone, flute, clarinetAdam Kolker, Dave Finucane, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone, flute,
bass clarinet
Stan Strickland, fluteAllan Chase, soprano saxophone, tenor saxophoneRoy Okutani, Andy Gravish, trumpetKen Cervenka, trumpet, flügelhornRick Stepton, trombonePeter Cirelli, bass trombone, euphonium;  
Tim Ray
, piano, synthesizerPaul Del Niro, bassGeorge Schuller, drums, percussionRuss Gold, percussionBob Weiner, percussionAlain Mallet, synthesizer, shakers
1. Funkallero (Gil Evans) 9:52
2. Panama (Matt Darriau) 9:40
3. Eleven (Gil Evans, Miles Davis) 4:27
4. Koo-Koo (Alain Mallet) 9:29
5. Moose the Mooche (Charlie Parker) 9:29
6. The Griff (Adam Kolker) 6:30
7. Ot Med Li Ti Sa Ustata (Traditional Bulgarian) 4:36
8. Ahmad the Terrible (Jack De Johnette) 10:06
9. Boy George (George Schuller) 10:08
Recorded on (except #8) 14-15 August 1989 at Inner City Sound in Boston, Massachusetts and (#8) 19 November 1989 at Inner City Sound in Boston, Massachusetts.
Producer: George Schuller
Executive Producer: Gunther Schuller
[Top of page]