GM Recordings logo


[New releases]
[New releases]
[Shopping cart]
[Favorite Links]
[Contact us]

GM 3008 Previous Next
Ran Blake:
Painted Rhythms: The Compleat Ran Blake, Volume 2
PAINTED RHYTHMS, VOLUME 2, coverThe second of two great compact discs full of the inventive and challenging solo piano stylings of Ran Blake.  Long one of the prime movers of the Third Stream, Blake has been honored with a prestigious Mac Arthur Foundation Fellowship in recognition of his unique and profound artistry.

The two albums comprising Painted Rhythms: The Compleat Ran Blake follow Blakes essential vision through his own compositions as well as interpretations of musics ranging from the jazz standards of Duke Ellington and Jerome Kern and of Scott Joplin rags of Volume 1 to the ancient Sephardic folk tunes and contemporary Spanish art songs that form the heart of Volume 2.

Long out of print, now available for downloads on Amazon

(also on Apple Music, Rhapsody, eMusic and other digital sites)

Ran Blake, piano
1. Maple Leaf Rag (Scott Joplin) 2:41
2. Blue Monk (Monk) 2:32
3. Theme for Alto (Rugolo) 3:48
4. Winter in Madrid (Roland, Cascales) 2:04
5. Una hija tiene el rey (Anonymous) 1:12
6. Una matica de ruda (Anonymous) 1:07
7. Pase el agua, Julieta (Anonymous) 1:37
8. Ah, el novio no quiere dinero 1:37
9. Aquesta nit un mateix vent (Mompou) 1:58
10. El cant dels ocells (Traditional) 1:10
11. Jo et pressentia com la mar (Mompou) 2:38
12. Shoah! (Blake) 4:22
13. Babbitt (Blake) 1:06
14. Storm Warning (Blake) 3:27
15. Vilna (Olshanetsky, Wolfson) 2:12
16. Bahia (Na baixa do sapteiro) (Barroso) 3:43
Recorded in December 1985 at Houghton Chapel, Wellesley College, in Wellesley, Massachusetts, and at the North Shore Music Theatre in Beverly, Massachusetts.
Producer: Gunther Schuller
Also see: Painted Rhythms: The Compleat Ran Blake, Volume 1
[Top of page]