GM Recordings logo


[New releases]
[New releases]
[Shopping cart]
[Favorite Links]
[Contact us]

GM 3007 Previous Next
Ran Blake:
Painted Rhythms: The Compleat Ran Blake, Volume 1
PAINTED RHYTHMS, VOLUME 1, coverThe first of two great compact discs full of the inventive and challenging solo piano stylings of Ran Blake.  Long one of the prime movers of the Third Stream, Blake has been honored with a prestigious Mac Arthur Foundation Fellowship in recognition of his unique and profound artistry.

The two albums comprising Painted Rhythms: The Compleat Ran Blake follow Blakes essential vision through his own compositions as well as interpretations of musics ranging from the jazz standards of Duke Ellington and Jerome Kern and of Scott Joplin rags of Volume 1 to the ancient Sephardic folk tunes and contemporary Spanish art songs that form the heart of Volume 2.

Qty: CD Price: $12.00

Also available for downloads on Amazon as well as Apple Music, Spotify, Rhapsody, eMusic and other digital sites.

Ran Blake, piano
1. Azure (Ellington) 3:02
2. Skrontch (Ellington) 2:34
3. Drop Me Off in Harlem (Ellington) 1:45
4. Whats Your Story, Morning Glory?
(Williams, Webster, Lawrence)
5. Ezzthetic (Russell) 3:51
6. Interlude (Rugolo, Russell) 5:00
7. Painted Rhythm (Kenton) 1:19
8. Who (Kern, Hammerstein, Harbach) 2:30
9. Smoke Gets in Your Eyes (Kern, Harbach) 5:53
10. Impresario of Death (Blake) 3:39
11. Moonlight on the Ganges (Ewing, Wallace) 2:24
12. Hallelujah, I Love Her So (Charles) 1:40
13. Maple Leaf Rag (Joplin) 3:12
14. Maple Leaf Rag (Joplin) 3:21
15. Maple Leaf Rag (Joplin) 2:07
Recorded (#1-13) in December 1985 at Houghton Chapel, Wellesley College, in Wellesley, Massachusetts, and (#14-15) at the North Shore Music Theatre in Beverly, Massachusetts.
Producer: Gunther Schuller
Also see: Painted Rhythms: The Compleat Ran Blake, Volume 2
[Top of page]