GM Recordings logo


[New releases]
[New releases]
[Shopping cart]
[Favorite Links]
[Contact us]

GM 2071 Previous Next
Russell Sherman:
Premieres and Commissions
Richard Todd: HORN SONATAS OF 3 CENTURIES"One of the best pianists in this or any other country" (New York Times), last year became the first American to record both Beethoven’s complete piano sonatas and concertos.

Also known for his revered performances of Franz Liszt's Transcendental Etudes and his vital interpretative writings on Mozart and Beethoven, Mr. Sherman here follows the success of his Complete Beethoven Piano Sonatas (GM5001), which was labeled "a set for the ages" (Bernard Jacobson, Fanfare), and his Complete Beethoven Piano Concertos: Live at Monadnock (GM5002), called “enthralling and unified …indispensable performances” (Lloyd Schwartz, Boston Phoenix).

With the exception of Schoenberg's Six Pieces for Piano, celebrated septuagenarian Russell Sherman premiered and/or commissioned the solo piano pieces heard on this recording. This is a unique opportunity to hear the great pianist perform very personal and contemporary repertoire.

Other GM Releases Featuring Russell Sherman: GM5002: The Complete Beethoven Piano Concertos: Live at Monadnock (3 CDs)
GM5001: The Complete Beethoven Piano Sonatas (10 CD box set)
GM2050, 2053, 2057, 2067, 2068: Beethoven Piano Sonatas (individual
2-CD sets)
GM2033: Stravinsky's Rite of Spring & Alban Berg's Chamber Concerto


“He is by any measure one of the truly extraordinary pianists before the
— New York Times

"A thinking man's virtuoso"
— Chicago Tribune

Qty: · CD Price: $12.00 ·

Also available for downloads on Amazon as well as Apple Music, Spotify, Rhapsody, eMusic and other digital sites.

Russell Sherman, piano
Arnold Schoenberg: Six Pieces for Piano, Op. 19 (1913) 6:00
1. I. Leicht, zart 1:15
2. II. Langsam 1:08
3. III. Sehr langsame 1:06
4. IV. Rasch, aber leicht 0:26
5. V. Etwas Rasch 0:37
6. VI. Sehr langsam 1:28
Gunther Schuller: Sonata-Fantasia (for Russell Sherman)
7. I. Maestoso 6:46
8. II. Lento 4:35
9. III. Animato tempestoso 4:23
10. Robert Helps: Shall We Dance (for Russell Sherman) (1994) 10.25
George Perle: Six Celebratory Inventions (for solo piano)
(World premiere at New England Conservatory 1/11/97.)
11. I. for Ernst Krenek at Eighty-Five 0:49
12. II. for Henri Dutilleux at Eighty 1:29
13. III. for Oliver Knussen at Forty 0:57
14. IV. for Gunther Schuller at Seventy 1:51
15. V. for Richard Swift at Sixty 1:57
16. VI. for Leonard Bernstein at Seventy 1:22
Ralph Shapey: Sonata Profondo (for piano)
(Commissioned by and dedicated to Russell Sherman.)
17. I. Introduction — Six Variations and Coda 7:22
18. II. Scherzando — Trio and Coda 3:04
19. III. Serenade 2:43
20. IV. Rondo and Coda 5:07
Total Disc Time
Producer: Gunther Schuller
[Top of page]