GM Recordings logo


[New releases]
[New releases]
[Shopping cart]
[Favorite Links]
[Contact us]

GM 2067 Previous Next
Russell Sherman:
Beethoven Piano Sonatas, Volume 4
Russell Sherman: BEETHOVEN PIANO SONATAS, VOL 4The fourth of five double-CD sets in which master pianist Russell Sherman records all of the Beethoven Piano Sonatas.  His vision of the Sonatas is boldly expressive  Ś  the first three volumes (GM2050, GM2053, and GM2057) have received widespread critical acclaim, including Stereo Review's "Pick of the Month," five-star reviews, and numerous mentions on annual Top Ten lists.

Sherman began his studies at the age of six, and by the age of eleven, was studying with the renowned Eduard Steuermann, friend of Ferruccio Busoni and Arnold Schoenberg.  A child prodigy from New York, Sherman graduated from Columbia University in Humanities at the age of fifteen and soon thereafter played solo piano with Leonard Bernsteinĺs orchestra. Featured on National Public Radio, he has earned a reputation over the years as an interpreter of remarkable insight and imagination both in standard piano repertory and in his vigorous advocacy of contemporary music.

(Also available, Volume 5.)

Long out of print, now available for downloads on Amazon

(also on Apple Music, Rhapsody, eMusic and other digital sites)

Russell Sherman, piano
Disk 1
Ludwig van Beethoven: Sonata No.10 in G Major, Opus 14, No. 2 16:19
1. I. Allegro 7:17
2. II. Andante 5:12
3. III. Scherzo: Allegro assai 3:50
Beethoven: Sonata No. 13 in E-Flat Major, Opus 27, No. 1 16:26
4. I. Andante - Allegro - Andante 5:18
5. II. Allegro molto e vivace 2:01
6. III. Adagio con espressione 3:16
7. IV. Allegro vivace 5:51
Beethoven: Sonata No. 14 in C-Sharp Minor, Opus 27, No. 2 "Moonlight" 15:47
8. I. Adagio sostenuto 5:59
9. II. Allegretto 2:04
10. III. Presto agitato 7:44
Beethoven: Sonata No. 26 in E-Flat Major, Opus 81a "Les Adieux" 16:44
11. I. Adagio - Allegro 6:43
12. II. Andante espressivo 3:54
13. III. Vivacissimamente 6:07
Disk 2
Beethoven: Sonata No. 5 in C Minor, Opus 10, No. 1 18:36
1. I. Allegro molto e con brio 6:01
2. II. Adagio molto 8:04
3. III. Finale: Prestissimo 3:45
Beethoven: Sonata No. 11 in B-Flat Major, Opus 22 26:53
4. I. Allegro con brio 7:08
5. II. Adagio con molto espressione 9:27
6. III. Menuetto 3:22
7. IV. Rondo: Allegretto 6:20
Beethoven: Sonata No. 18 in E-Flat Major, Opus 31, No. 3 22:20
8. I. Allegro 8:48
9. II. Scherzo: Allegretto vivace 4:41
10. III. Menuetto: Moderato e grazioso 4:08
11. IV. Presto con fuoco 4:43
Recorded on April 14-17, 1997 (except for Sonata 11, Opus 22 recorded May 18, 1998) at the Church of the Redeemer, Chestnut Hill, Massachusetts.
Producer: Gunther Schuller
[Top of page]