GM Recordings logo


[New releases]
[New releases]
[Shopping cart]
[Favorite Links]
[Contact us]

GM 2043 Previous Next
Nancy Zeltsman:
WOODCUTS coverKnown for her pathbreaking work in Marimolin, Nancy Zeltsman presents her debut solo release.

This recording, featuring compositions from Astor Piazzolla to Michael Hedges to Suzanne Vega, demonstrates why Nancy Zeltsman has been a powerful force in the expansion of repertoire for the marimba.

(Also hear Nancy Zeltsman in Marimolin’s GM Recordings, Marimolin and Phantasmata, and on Godfrey, Schwartz, Frank: Music for Strings & Mallet Percussion.)

“The marimba is a particularly difficult instrument to master and Zeltsman has clearly done so.” —American Record Guide

Qty: · CD Price: $12.00 ·

Also available for downloads on Amazon as well as Apple Music, Spotify, Rhapsody, eMusic and other digital sites.

Nancy Zeltsman, marimbaDana Rogers, vocals (#7 only)
1. Daniel Levitan: Opening Day (1984) 5:46
Andrew Thomas: Merlin (1985) 10:15
2. I. 3:54
3. II. 6:18
Astor Piazzolla: Tango Suite (1984)
(Originally written for two guitars, both parts played by Zeltsman.)
4. Tango Number 1 5:02
5. Tango Number 2 4:21
6. Tango Number 3 6:45
7. Nancy Zeltsman: Woodcuts (After Satie) (1986) 11:17
8. Nick Kirgo: November Marimba (1976-77) 3:31
9. Suzanne Vega: Gypsy (1981) 4:11
10. Michael Hedges: Ragamuffin (1982) 3:17
11. Caleb Morgan: Pay No Attention to That Man Behind the Curtain (1988) 8:36
Robert Aldridge: From My Little Island [excerpts] (1988-91) 5:44
12. Hymn 2:50
13. Dance of Passion 2:53
All tracks recorded between fall 1991-early 1993 at the Central Campus Recording Studio, San Jacinto College, Pasadena, Texas, except Opening Day and Merlin (fall 1991) and November Marimba, Gypsy and Ragamuffin (fall 1992) recorded at First & Second Church in Boston, Massachusetts.
Executive Producer: Ray Dillard, Heron Pond Productions
[Top of page]